Blown away in Vegas ….. the Supernatural universe (part 1)

Where do I start with explaining how amazing last weekend was? I have no idea how to explain it to people who don’t watch Supernatural and to people who don’t understand conventions. So I’m just going to write and support my story with videos (who aren’t mine) and pictures. I will write about this weekend in three posts, cause there’s just no way I can write it down in just one without you all getting crazy 🙂

Supernatural_Season_10_Background

Leading up to Vegas

As some of you might know I’m a huge Supernatural fan. Supernatural is a TV show that airs on the CW. I am not sure if it still airs on Dutch TV, but I watch it online, so I don’t really care 🙂 Here’s a little history that led up to this weekend.

About 2,5 years ago I was surfing YouTube for some concert video’s I’d just went to. YouTube recommends video’s for you and the one on top of it all was a Convention Video of Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles, leads of Supernatural. I knew about Supernatural but haven’t watched it, cause I thought it was too scary for me to watch. I had a feeling that if I clicked that recommendation I would be sold, and I told myself “Don’t do it!”, so what did I do, yes I clicked the damn link, and I was sold. These guys where amazing, hilarious, smart, kind, grateful and most of all themselves. At that time Season 8 just started and the same thought occurred to me “Don’t watch it, cause ….” and I pulled up 8×01 and indeed I was sold. And I didn’t even mind. I got season 1 – 8 and I watched it, over and over again I watched it. As the seasons went on I kept watching and re-watching. Same as the convention video’s, every time there’s been new conventions I watch them. See what hilarity they brough, how connected they still are to the fans and to each other. The bond on and offscreen between Jared and Jensen is amazing. They are brothers, and they, still, are humbled about what they have, who their fans are, they appreciate everything. I think that’s what pulled me in, their amazing bond and who they are. Something like this happens at conventions:

The moment I watched that first convention video I knew I had to go to one. I researched online and I figured that if I’d ever go to one now was the time and I wanted to go to Vegas. Vegas is the biggest (4 days) convention and I knew I was going for a gold ticket, the best seats in the house with extra’s, like autographs and special nights. Supernatural is now in it’s 10th season and 11 is on its way. I, personally think, that it will last until season 12. I hope for more cause this show is getting better and better. The characters evolve a and the acting is superb. I think S6 and S7 are a little less, but it got a better with S8, S9 was even better than 8 and this season, season 10 is extraordinaire.

So I started to plan for this trip and arranged it with my work. I was excited to go and although 2,5 years might seem long, it flew by.

Social Media and Supernatural

A lot of the actors are on social media. In the last year both Jared and Jensen joined Facebook and they are both on Twitter. Jensen joined Twitter during a convention last year and that was amazing.

There are so many fans online as well. Most followers I have on Twitter are fans. I got them during a scavenger hunt I went on (GISHWHES), organised by Misha Collins (Castiel from Supernatural). He has an organisation called Random Acts and this year GISHWHES is going to be held for the 5th time. Any who, that was besides the point. I got into that and gained followers and we actually had conversations. I found a couple of groups on Facebook and it’s such, again, an incredible feeling to be in this family. Every fan in these groups care about each other, we care about the show and we can speak our mind. If you throw in hate, you’re out, cause that’s not who we are. We discus for sure, and we have our own opinions, but we do not hate. And that is amazing.

One of groups I got invited to is the Kitty Krew. I don’t know where the name came from, but I know we are close. It’s a small and closed group (about 75 people) and we discus everything. Supernatural, the actors, the story, our story, our worries, our troubles, our victories, whatever we want we put out. A couple of the girls also went to the convention in Vegas and I ended up spending most of the downtime with them. The moment we met on Wednesday for dinner we hit it off. It was so easy and homey and felt so normal. It felt like we where supposed to be there and like we’ve always known each other.

So here’s me and the Kitties that went.

Kitties 2

Kitties during some down time.

Kitties Karaoke

Kitties before Karaoke

Kittys 1

Kitties and the Green Machine. One Kitty is never in the pic, cause she doesn’t like to be in it, but the Green Machine is her car and she took so many incredible pictures!

After all the amazing days (which you’ll read about in the next 2 blogs) it was hard saying goodbye. Most of us spread out across the country, one to Canada, one to Austria. I didn’t want to get out of this bubble so I drove after one of them and that’s where I am now. I’m spending a couple of days with her and I’m finally out of the convention bubble. That’s not to say I don’t want to be back in, cause it was amazing, but I’m not sad about it any more 🙂

If you want to read the rest of the story, just click on the following links. Enjoy! ❤

Incredible talented cast, panels and what not …… Blown away in Vegas (part 2)

Time for photo ops and autos….. Blown away in Vegas (last part)

4 thoughts on “Blown away in Vegas ….. the Supernatural universe (part 1)

  1. This is so amazing Ilse!! I’m so happy you had a great time and spent the most amazing time with the kitties :-* — Hugs, Angy

  2. ilseklijn says:

    Ahhhhh I know…….. Oh Agnes gave me the T-Shirt you send her, the purple one. It fits perfectly, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

