Dean and his Mark

I’ve got a few theories about Dean and his new found Mark. It all starts when he’s in Hell torturing, and maybe even before that. It’s a long story, and it might not be very fluid, so I’m sorry if it doesn’t make to much sense….

“You can’t escape me Dean, you’re gonna die and this is what you’re gonna become” I think he partly became that Dean when he went to hell and “liked” the torture. I don’t believe he really liked the torture, but I think he embraced it, because he really had no other option to embrace torturing souls other than being tortured himself. I think, knowing Alistair, he has been torturing souls that weren’t bad in the first place, so the “I made a deal with the devil” people, who weren’t bad but just made a bad call. I wish I could think it was only really bad people Dean had to torture, but knowing who made him torture I’m afraid he didn’t… And no matter what it were still souls, no matter how bad of a person it would’ve been, it’s still torture and it still was horrific, no matter if it was deserved (torture is never deserved anyway, but you know what I mean….)

Dean shut himself off of everything in Hell (and maybe he pretended to like torture, cause it’s easier to do something really bad with a smile on your face than not) and also after he came back. I also think that the horseman told him he was already dead inside because that’s what he really felt. He shut of his feelings because it would hurt to much if he let any feelings in. I think Dean might’ve been dead long before John died. Dean has been saying he was tired of this life from the first or second season and I think Dean died a lot when his mom died, Sam left for college and than John died. I think that all affected him not in a good way. I think his childhood (taking care of Sammy and being a good soldier) made him (feel) dead inside.

Dean told Cas something like “if I get in there, you’re not gonna like what’s coming out”. He didn’t change  while trying to torture Alastair, he couldn’t because he was feeling guilty about all the souls and he didn’t want to get back to that “person”. He pulled himself out and that’s why he couldn’t get through to Alastair, which I think is amazing, cause he could’ve just let everything go and became a torturer again……. I think that there’s still a piece of Dean we haven’t seen, but it’s not in the pit, it’s stuck deep inside of himself (although Alastair said: “You left a part of yourself back in the Pit, lets see if we can’t get the two of you back together shall we?”). Dean feels so bad about what he did and he doesn’t want to think about it, but it’s still in him. He buries everything that he doesn’t want to talk about or think about but he needs to remember what he did, how bad it got, so he can do better and be a better hunter. That is what I think. It’s not in Hell, it’s in himself and sometimes he might need to do things he really doesn’t want to and than he will pull something out of himself so he can do the things other people can’t, if that makes any sense……..Maybe we get to see it when the Mark of Cain progresses to change him…

Cas asked Dean: “Why do you think you don’t deserved to be saved?” I think he always felt second place to Sam. He was the one who had to take care of him, no matter what happened, take care of Sam. He’s been feeling guilty all his life. His whole life revolves around Sam, he’s feeling guilty and responsible for everything Sammy had to go through and he will always have his back. Dean is just going through the motions, living a live, protecting Sam. Making sure Sammy is okay and for the rest of it, who cares what happens to me… That’s so sad though, but that’s Dean and that’s why I Love him, that makes Dean Dean. It’s hard to look at but it’s amazing at the same time. .

I think Cain told Dean he was worthy of the Mark because he really is. He is his brothers keeper, he went to Hell for his brother and basically Cain did the same right. He didn’t want Able to go to Hell so he killed him so he could go to heaven. And than he became Lucifers puppet, until he met his wife. I don’t think it’s because of Dean torturing in Hell, I think it’s about not feeling worthy about being alive and he couldn’t care less what happens to him as long as his brother is safe… In the Croatoan episode Dean said, again, he was tired of this life. The only reason I think Dean is still “standing” is because he made a promise when he was very little. The promise to “Take care of Sammy” and he’s never done anything less than taking care of him. Even when Sam didn’t have a soul, when he was addicted to demon blood, when he was with Ruby, during the trials, skipping the last trial, tricking Sam into saying yes to Zeke/Gadreel and so on.

So according to the bible Cain is the father of murder now, which isn’t good, but hell was not very pleasant as well 😉 The fact that the Mark makes sure Dean doesn’t have any family left (I read somewhere that that’s also an affect of the Mark) makes him a better killer. Cain made sure he only killed demons I believe, so Dean can do that too… I think his time in Hell may have prepared him for this …..A shitty new live but be doesn’t care about himself anyways so why not some more burdens to bare and guilt to cary and whatever right (I think as Dean now, not as myself…)…. I don’t think Dean can suffer any more as he does right now. He’s filled with guilt and I think that’s why he is a perfect candidate for the Mark of Cain, I don’t think Cain would’ve given Dean the Mark if he knew he couldn’t handle it. Cause Cain is not a bad guy, he want’s to do good so I think he picked the one person who could handle the Mark the most which obviously is Dean. Maybe he still is a bit dead in side…

I’ve read that Lucifer made a deal with Cain to kill Able so that Able didn’t get to Hell. So I think Lucifer gave Cain the Mark so he could do bad stuff and create monsters. Cain created the Night’s of Hell right? So that must’ve been a command of Lucifer.. I’m still confused about Littlith though, cause she was the first demon right, but than she must’ve been as old or older as Abadon, cause Cain created the first Night’s of Hell, or was Lillith made by a Night of Hell??? Wow now I’m confused………Okay back to the point.. I don’t think Lucifer is giving any orders anymore, cause he’s still fighting with Michael in the cage. I have no ideas or clues about what his influence on Dean will have…….. ohhhhhhh shit I just came up with a theory which will freak the hell out of you, so SORRRYYYY in advance!!!!!!

What if Sam will say YES to Lucifer again???? You know “The End”, “no matter what details you alter, we will always end up back here”? We know Sam and Dean are drifting apart, what if Dean gets so dark he opens up Lucifers cage so he could posses Sam (cause Sam already said yes to him once so I don’t think he need his permission again right, but than again Gadreel asked permission to enter his “first” vessel so I might be wrong) and than when Dean has to kill Cain the Mark will disappear and Dean is all alone again trying to get Sam back……… I don’t know, it just popped up in my mind, something like that…. So back to the point.

I think the Mark already is slowly affecting Dean, well maybe it’s affecting Sam a bit more now (remember the distancing of family because of the Mark?) than it is Dean, but I think it can’t change to fast, cause otherwise people will notice to quickly and can do something about it. I think that’s the whole point of the Mark. Slowly changing  you and the people around you so they wouldn’t question what you’re doing and than just leave when they had enough and than you’re all alone. I’ve noticed Dean is getting quicker (remember him throwing knives) and his decisions about what to kill (remember the phishtaco lady….) I think Dean will kill Abaddon with the help of Crowley, I also think he will kill Crowley after that but he can only do that while he is still somewhat like he is now. When he still has morals and knows what’s right. I don’t know how dark he will and can get, but I hope he doesn’t destroy the bunker, cause that’s where all the knowledge is right….. Ohh wow another creepy thought: if Dean really becomes “evil” he might not like all the knowledge in the bunker and he might want to destroy it so Sam, or Charlie or whoever can find the information to save him from the Mark……. I really hope that when Dean gets “evil” the bunker will “spit” him out and he can’t enter, so all the knowledge is saved and he can be too….I don’t think Dean will ask Sam to save him, cause he probably believes that he won’t. I think Dean won’t notice when he turns or changes, I think he might get off of the radar so that Sam even doesn’t know where he is and can’t find him. I think there will be a great rift between the brothers, both don’t care for one or the other and someone else will have to save them both.

Dean will get a lot darker when Sam is pulling out more. Sam has always been Dean’s anchor, remember at the end of The End Dean tells Sam “We keep each other human”? I think that’s what happening here. Sam is pulling out slowly so Dean is getting less and less human. It would’ve probably happen sooner, if they weren’t this close but now with the Mark it’ll happen soon. I think Sam is also a bit confused about what he is doing or what is happening to him. Remember when he walked away to his room when Kevin left? He was hesitant to open his bedroom door and was doubting if he would enter or get back to Dean, he chose to get into the room, but I think he really didn’t want to though…..

As long as they are still on jobs together there’s a chance they will be okay. I’m just afraid that something might happen soon, that Sam decides to quit working with Dean. I don’t know why, maybe when he will kill Abaddon or Crowley and he goes off the rails when doing that.

I have no clue about how Cas will react. I know he will be pissed at Dean, but I also think he might understand why he did it. I don’t want Cas to have the answer though, cause it’ll be a quick fix and that’s something I don’t want for Dean. I want to see him struggle, I want to see his dark side, his really really dark side, I want to see how much different he is when he is evil and I want to see how manipulative he can be when he is evil. I think that will be quit interesting. I also think they might not even get to save Dean when season 9 ends. I hope it won’t cause it’s a good storyline. I think this season is about the rift between Sam and Dean and I think next season they might be able to help each other and get back together again. I really hope they’re gonna kill Metatron, cause I really really don’t like him! I don’t hate people, but he is so annoyingly bad I want him dead as soon as possible.

I don’t think Cas will have a lot of time to see Sam and Dean, but that’s also because they won’t get in touch with him. Sam doesn’t know or care what will happen to Dean so he won’t call Cas. And Dean won’t get in touch with Cas, cause he doesn’t know what’s happening to him and has other priorities. 

I read Dean is the only one who can kill Cain with his own blade and while having the Mark. I don’t think it matters so much that he might get 7 times more of guilt and suffering, because he couldn’t care less. He’s been suffering so much already this won’t be anything new for him.. Maybe the moment Dean kills Cain Cain can remove the mark from Dean? I don’t know if that’s a possibility but maybe the Mark leaves when Cain dies, that sounds nice, doesn’t it 🙂 That does mean Sam won’t have to save Dean though, and maybe that’s how it’s going to turn out. I don’t know, I think this season the brothers aren’t going to save each other when they need to. Well unless it’s on a hunt, but that’s different.

I think it’ll be a long season (and we only have 8 episodes left). I really hope they only finish the Angel storyline this season and not de Mark of Cain one, cause there’s so much to explore with that one.

One thought on “Dean and his Mark

Leave a Reply

