Acting class 2/8

Today was the second acting class I took and as promised a “little” story about how that went.

After last weeks class I was freaking out for the most of the week(end). During the weekend I looked at myself and said: Oh no you’re not getting that scared again. I imagined that this class would be better and more fun and that I wouldn’t be scared to stand in front of all those people. A few days ago I thought it might be a good idea to explain to the class what happened to me last week but after talking to a couple of people I decided not to. They said (and I have to remember that) that I don’t have to justify my action to anyone but me, there’s no need to explain to anyone other than myself what happened (if I have to explain it that is). But as someone who would like to have everything under control that is pretty hard.

This class we also started in a circle Β (I don’t remember if I wrote that down last time, but my brain was so scrambled and I was so hyper that I must’ve forgotten somethings πŸ˜‰ ) and make a sound and a movement. Someone started that sound and movement (lets just call it SoMo for now) and basically address that to someone else in the group. Than that person had to mimic the SoMo of the first and than threw his/ hers to someone else. In the beginning we went a little slow but it’s a good way to empty your brain and really get into the moment. Ohhh and when our professor counts 1, 2, 3 we have to do a karate movement and yell “Kung Fu” which is kinda fun.

Okay so that was part one, now part two. We were positioned in two groups of five opposite from each other, each facing someone on the other end of the room. Than first we had to be very angry at that person and curse and yell, only in gibberish, and be so angry that you wanted to punch that person in the face. The other people of your group had to hold you back, so that you wouldn’t actually kill the other person πŸ™‚ This was hard, probably because you couldn’t use real words and basically only had to use your anger so that the other person could feel it. The moment I got into it I just basically started yelling random gibberish but mostly the same words (I believe). I felt some of the anger bubbling up to the surface so that kinda worked. Next was that we had to (also in gibberish) tell our group we really liked someone of the other group and had to “talk” by movement and voices what you wanted to do to that other person. How they made you feel and how you would react to that. This was so much more difficult than that first exercise. The most difficult part was that the group had to follow your lead and that you had to get them on your side and let them follow your lead. It went okay, I still was thinking too much but I expressed myself more than last week, so that was good πŸ˜€

And then there was a “I’m standing at a bus stop and some person is waiting for the bus as well”. There were four waiting at the bus stop and one was waiting in the hall. The four of us were told who/ what that other person was and we had to “act” as if that really happened. There were some funny (Madonna and a cow) ones and a few weird ones (Marc Dutroux and God for example). Our group had the God one and that was the hardest of all. We had to figure out how we, in real life, would act. I would probably (and I’m not a believer) be dumbfounded when that would happen, so on the second try (we didn’t do much the first try) the first thing I did was faint. And I think so did the rest, but I couldn’t really see. It had to be bigger than that cause we all seemed like we thought we were going to hell, which was pretty funny. So the next try I fainted first, than crawled up to God (cause you know, what else are you gonna do when you see something you don’t believe in :)) and pleaded and hugged him (which must’ve been weird for the girl playing God, cause she didn’t know she was supposed to be that “character”), and I was proud I did that, cause that was out of my comfort zone, but I just rolled with it (like that saying πŸ˜€ ).

Our final exercise was to play a “home-made” scene in pairs. This was the 5W exercise, difficult but I thought it was a great one and I did that best. Me and my partner Nur were playing a scene between two sisters (I was at the office and she came in to talk to me cause I didn’t responded to any of her calls, texts etc) who got into a fight cause I didn’t see our mom that much, even though she was sick, and she came over for an explanation. The first Β few tries were okay but we didn’t really portrayed it right, I think. Than my sister went out of the room and our teacher talked to me about what happened to me (my character) in the past. We decided it wasn’t pleasant, it was a really bad (touchy, feelly dad) situation and my sister and mom knew about what daddy did to me all those times and all those years ago and that pissed me off and hurt me so much that I didn’t want to see my mom even though she was sick. I could grab that emotion pretty okay and I got sad, hurt, and started to yell a bit. I showed my feelings a lot and it felt good. It’s not that I started to scream at my sister that she new what happened and never did anything about it and she just basically said “hey, it’s your own fault” and didn’t want to listen. It pissed me off and I could show the hurt, but I couldn’t get pissed enough to really start yelling and screaming and cursing.

All in all I’m proud of today, I wasn’t afraid like I was last week, but I was nervous. Probably because I just don’t know how to act and can’t really handle uncomfortable situations, YET! I know next week will be better and today all I can say was that it was FUN to be there and I went out off my comfort zone and I really showed something good today. So I can sleep very well tonight and can’t wait what next week has in store for me.

Now I think about it I think I know what actors feel like when they do an emotional scene. They get out of there comfort zone, they really get into the moment and get the feelings they need to show what they want you to show. And that, my dear friends, is a great feeling. I’m just getting started and I know I have lots to learn, but I can say that I get it know πŸ˜€

That’s it for tonight, have a good one (day/ night whatever it is at your timezone) and I’ll keep you posted!

❀

Leave a Reply

