Me and the UK … it’s always an adventure

WOW what a day!!! Haha I had an amazing adventure today going to Hove, England, and ended up right where I started: Home! It might be typical and Engand might not like me but I’m not giving up šŸ˜€ I’ll will get there one time without any difficulties šŸ˜‰

So here’s my summary of the last two times I went to the England visiting some friends:
The first time I went to Brighton I found out that my new phone didn’t have any service in England. The rest of the world (well I’ve only visited countries in Europe since but still) there’s no problem, but in England there’s a sim lock. I arrived late at night and wanted to call ahead so the people I stayed with knew what time they could expect me. That didn’t happen so I showed up a little before midnight. Luckily they’re up very late so it wasn’t a problem.

Than there was my trip to London for a show. I’ve wrote about that trip in an earlier post (November 2012) but it was like this in short:
I went to Brighton first for a visit to my friends. My phone still didn’t work so I tried to figure stuff out for that. My plan was to arrive in London around 4pm so I had enough time in London to find my hostel and get something to eat before the show. I was in London and thought I could walk to the hostel. Turned out I got out of the wrong train station and got lost. I arrives at the show almost an hour after the start, I was in time for the main show/performer, but I missed some awesome artists. I met some great people there though. It was a good trip after all but didn’t go without hick ups.

And now this trip …
I found a cheap train ticket to Hove (the website only listen one Hove where I could go by train) so I booked it. I was excited that I could visit some awesome people for a couple of days and it didn’t take me so long to get there. The train went through Antwerp and than to Hove. At Antwerp I checked the trains for Hove and found something strange. After Hove there were all these stations back in Belgium. I got suspicious that there might be an other Hove, but then in Belgium. I went to the information desk and my suspicions were true. The lady told me “Yes but you can’t go to the UK for that amount of money”. How the hell should I know about that. So I asked if I could go to Hove UK and what it costs. It would take me about 2,5 hours and 300 euro’s extra for a round trip. I debated what I should do, stay in Antwerp and look for a cheap room or just go back home. It took me about 30 minutes, with some nice Chai Latte from Starbucks, to decide I just took the train back home.
So now I’m back home, took a nap and had something to eat, not what I was planning but something fast and easy and still can’t get my head around where it all went wrong. I can laugh about it but it was a long day.

So maybe next time there will be no hick ups when I go to Hove or London! I know my phone still doesn’t work there so I have to fix that there but other than that it would be nice if I could just go there normally šŸ˜€

I can’t wait for what’s in store for me tomorrow and the day after here back in the Netherlands, wasn’t planning on being here so I’m excited! I know everything happens for a reason so I hope I figure out what that reason is….

But for now here I am with a huge smile on my face, shaking my head in disbelief, typing this up and totally at peace.

From behind this little new tablet of mine I wish you all a very good evening (on this side of the globe) and a very good day in the rest of the world.

Have a good one!

xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

